Diocese of Sioux City Music Standards

The Diocese of Sioux City Catholic Schools Office recommends music instructors align their instruction with the National Music Standards written by the National Association for Music Education. The National Music Standards were crafted in 2014, and focus on Music Literacy.

The standards are structured to develop understanding in 3 main areas related to musical knowledge.

  • Creating
  • Performing
  • Responding

As a result of these standards, students will have experience in:

  • Creating, to be successful musicians and to be successful 21st century citizens.
  • Performing, as singers and/or instrumentalists, and in their lives and careers.
  • Responding, to music, as well as to their culture, their community, and their colleagues.

The National Music Standards provide teachers with a framework that closely matches the unique goals of their specialized classes. The standards are presented in a grade sequence format, PK through grade 8. Specialized strands also address common high-school music classes, such as Ensembles and Music Composition/Theory. The standards are provided in “strands” that represent the principal ways music instruction is delivered in the classroom.

Link to standards: